Māori Wayfinders

In Term 2 we began learning local stories and how they are communicated. We went on three trips around New Brighton and spent time learning stories of New Brighton, Christchurch and Aotearoa. We then chose a topic to investigate further. I chose to look at Māori Way finders and their stories.

 

I began learning about the stories of Māori wayfinders.

 

I asked three questions to guide my inquiry. They were:

  •  Were there other ways to find their way?
  • How did they know which star to follow?
  • How did they know how to use the stars? 

 

I found my information from different sources including the movie Moana, Mātauranga, and TEDed.

 

The inquiry skills I used were note taking, interviewing and summarizing. 

 

The most interesting thing I found out was that wayfinders use the clouds to find their way.

 

Create

For my creation I chose to make an imovie because I really enjoy making them.

I worked with Malachi and Rangi.

We started by listing the things we needed.

Then we made our script.

Next we made the paper with the stars.

Finally we started, and finished the filming.

 

What resources I used for my inquiry was the boat in the playground, an ipad, a piece of paper and 3 vivids.

 

Share

This is my imovie, sharing my learning about Māori Way finders and their stories

 

It took me 4 sections to finish. 

And I made an extra slideshow by myself.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *